Violet the Violacea

Once upon a time, I had a beautiful Phalaenopsis Violacea specimen. She had a great root system, great green lush leaves, and had never stop giving out flowers for 5 months. And the fragrance… oh the sweet scent of the phalaenopsis violacea is like candy. Filling the air with a beautiful smell, attracting loads of bees that hover around it.

img_6616

img_6617

Look at her.. with her beautiful shiny green leaves and bright purple

img_6618

This is her neighbour.. Another Phal. violecea, that had an old bloom, probably about 10-14 days old, fading out a little.

img_6648

One day, out of the blue. When I was getting ready for work, went to visit my plants, and I noted Violet have most of the leaves brown.. And trust me when I say I look at my plants every single day, and there was none of this before. The leaves were brown, some were soft and moist.

img_7523

img_7524

The horror!!! It was brown rot!! I had no choice but to aggresively cut down most of the leaves to prevent spreading. As you can see, it was already very close to the crown. So i couldn’t spare to delay.

img_7537

Over the next few days, closely monitoring it, and placing it far from the other orchids. So far, it is still fine. But I hope the infection did not spread into the crown and stem and cause the plant to die.  Day by day I removed more leaves until 1 was left.. sigh~

img_7547

Cutting the leaves revealed a small bee’s hive being constructed at the underside of one of her leaves. So sorry I had to destroy your home.

img_7639

Be strong Violet… Just when she was about to give out a very rare triple bloom!

*will update the progress of the plant here.. so keep in touch!

2 thoughts on “Violet the Violacea

Leave a Reply

